How to share files and folders in Google Drive

1641814086 How to share files and folders in Google Drive

Google's free cloud storage platform, Google Drive, is a great collaboration tool, but you need to know how to share files and folders to enable it to reach its full potential.

Photo: Andy Wolber / TechRepublic

Google’s cloud storage platform, Google Drive, is a unique tool for closing physical gaps between colleagues and co-workers that are forced in today’s business world. It's tightly integrated with G Suite, Google's cloud - based office software platform, making it easy to use making it the perfect collaboration center for businesses large and small.

To be a successful user of Google Drive, you need to know how to use its basic functions, such as uploading, creating, and organizing files and folders. Along with these essentials, there is also the one most essential for the role of Google Drive as a collaboration platform: Sharing files and folders.

What's Hot at TechRepublic

Sharing files and folders, and understanding how a subfolder holds licenses, does not have to be challenging - these tips will allow you to securely share the right documents and folders in no time.

Index

    How to share a document or folder in Google Drive

    In fact, sharing a file or folder is extremely easy - the details of making sure you share the right content with the right people can be difficult.

    Of course there are two ways to select a document or folder to share. First, you can left-click on an object to select it, and then look to the right of the Google Drive window for the silhouette image (Figure A).

    READ  Google and Android 13: Here's what analysts want in 2022

    Figure A

    google-drive-sharing-fig-a.jpg

    Second, you can right-click on the document and look for the Share option in the menu that appears (Figure B). It does not matter how you do this - it depends on choice.

    Figure B

    google-drive-sharing-fig-b.jpg

    Once you have clicked on Share, using all methods, the Share With Others window will appear (Figure C). You can enter any email address you want to enter in the recipient field, add a note, and then click send to notify the recipient via email that they have request an allotment.

    Figure C

    google-drive-sharing-fig-c.jpg

    In this example I shared a document, but the same steps apply to folders as well.

    Sharing one document is very rude: The only person who gets access to it is the same document that you shared. Nothing else will appear in the directory where it is located for them.

    Packages, on the other hand, are a bit different, and sharing permissions can be tricky. If you plan to share anything more than specific documents, it's wise to understand a little more about how Google Drive sharing works.

    How to change Google Drive sharing permissions

    When you share a document or folder with someone, they basically have permission to edit. For a file, that means they can make changes, and for folders it means they can organize the folder, edit files and add content.

    If you opened the Share window (shown above in Figure C), you may have noticed a button with a pencil icon on the right side of the share screen. Clicking on it will open the permissions menu (Figure D), where you can set a document to edit, comment only, or just view. For folders, you can switch between Edit / Edit / Add and View only.

    Figure D

    google-drive-sharing-fig-d.jpg

    For more control over granular partition permissions, you need to open the advanced partition window, which can be done by clicking Advanced in the bottom right corner of the partition window.

    The Advanced screen shows you all who have access, what kind of access they have, and allows the owner of the document to control what other people can do with it (Figure E).

    Figure E

    google-drive-sharing-fig-e.jpg

    In the Advanced window, you can set different permissions for different people, as well as prevent those with access from sharing the document with others (highly recommended). There is also an option to prevent those with read - only and comment - only from copying, printing or downloading the shared document, which is also a good idea if you do not want additional copies of a logged file navigating around.

    You can also disable sharing permissions: To completely remove an individual's access click on the X to the right of the name (Figure F).

    Figure F

    google-drive-sharing-fig-f.jpg

    How to share documents publicly

    Looking again at the Advanced Apportionment list, you will see a field in the Who Has Access list with the Designated Special Entrants entry. That's the default setting for files and folders in Google Drive, and it means that the file or folder can only be viewed by people with a special invitation.

    In some cases, you may want to make a file or folder publicly available: This is common for open source plans, free blueprints and patterns, and other section software. To change who can find the document, click on Change next to Assign Access for People Specification, which opens the Link Sharing window shown in Figure G.

    Figure G

    google-drive-sharing-fig-g.jpg

    There are two types of link sharing: a full public version that lists the document online, means that it can be found by anyone who performs the correct Google search, and a public but unregistered public sharing that requires give someone a direct link. You can also control whether public access is restricted to view only, comments only, or editorial permissions.

    Be careful if you choose to share a document publicly - it means that there is no way to stop unwanted guests from viewing, or potentially altering, your files.

    Note on package permissions

    Now that you know how to share documents and folders, and control the type of access people have to them, it's important to know how subfolder permissions work in Google Drive.

    When you access the Google Drive folder, you are accessing everything that resides within that folder. This means that a person with the permission to edit a folder can do anything - edit, move, delete, copy, etc. - to files and folders within it.

    This license extends to folders created after section access is granted, so make sure you know who has access, and what kind of access they have, to a high-level folder .

    If you restore a user 's access to a folder, they also lose access to everything that is inside that folder and the same goes for folder permissions. If you make a user read only on a high-level folder, they will be read-only on everything inside as well.

    There's no good way to control folder access in a central location with Google Drive, at least not the free version available to non - enterprise customers. That means you have to do some manual access control for subfolders and documents; you need to remember to remove permissions each time you create a new folder or file, or move something to a shared directory as well.

    See also

    Related Posts

    Deja una respuesta

    Tu dirección de correo electrónico no será publicada. Los campos obligatorios están marcados con *

    Subir

    We use cookies to ensure that we give the best user experience on our website. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you agree. More information